Honda Classic Winners

PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL - MARCH 5: Mark Wilson holds up the winners check after his victory on the third hole of the playoff round of the Honda Classic on March 5, 2007 at PGA National in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. (Photo by Marc Serota/Getty Images)
Perhaps the most renowned Honda Classic winner is Jack Nicklaus, who won back-to-back tournaments in 1977 and 1978 when it was still known as the Jackie Gleason’s Inverrary Classic – both of these years the tournament was played at the Inverrary Golf and Country Club in Lauderhill, Florida, a 7128-yard, par-72 course. Both years Nicklaus won $50,000 for his efforts with a final score of -13 and -12 in 1977 and 1978 respectively.

Recent Honda Classic Winners

Yang Yong-Eun was the 2009 Honda Classic winner, the South Korean golfer defeated John Rollins by a single shot. In his first PGA career title, Yang earned a 2 year exemption from the PGA tour as well as  entries to the US Masters, WGC CA Championship and $1 million in prize money.

The 2007 winner of the Honda Classic was Mark Wilson who beat Jose Coceres on a playoff when he birdied a third extra hole. Wilson posted a final tally of five under par to walk away with the winner’s purse of $990,000.

The previous year, the Honda Classic was won by Luke Donald who posted 12 under par and also walked away with $990,000. In 2005 Padraig Harrington bagged the same amount after he played to 14 under par after a playoff finish saw him coming up against Vijay Singh which required two extra holes to decide the winner.

Todd Hamilton won the Honda Classic tournament in 2004 with -12 and Justin Leonard took top honours the previous year when he posted a remarkable score of 24 under – which is the best score posted at the tournament to date.

Another Honda Classic previous winner was the first golfer to win the Honda Classic when it became known by that name – Bruce Lietzke in 1984. He beat Andy Bean and won with a par in a one-hole playoff, making his overall score of eight under par the winning one for the tournament. This Honda Classic tournament was played at TPC at Eagle Trace, Coral Springs, California, and Lietzke walked away with what at the time was a handsome figure of $90,000.